Rides and Tales

Observations From Behind Bars

Me and my Shadow.

with one comment

Having been left unsupervised, I decided to take the Baby Shadow on a lunch run. I bundled up as best I could against the frosty 62° air, donned my sun goggles and went ‘looking for adventure and whatever comes our way’.

First I went by my favorite coffee shop on the off chance that my oldest compadre might be there. No luck on that score, but I did run into a couple of motorcycling friends who were taking advantage of the day to get out, a little. They had other rats to kill and declined riding uptown to Knuckleheads.

Knuckleheads is, of course, the eat-and-drinkery housed in the old Grayhound Bus Station that features the best barbecue anywhere, as well as ” the prettiest women and the friendliest people you’ve ever seen”.

Right away I ran into my bud who has recently bought a new Harley-Davidson motorcycle. I don’t know what all the models are but I believe this may be the one called the “GeezerGlide”. At any rate, its a beautiful machine and couldn’t belong to a nicer guy.

b.jpg

I went inside for a minute and, passing the bar on the way out, spotted a woman who looked amazingly like an old flame. She must have caught the vibe, or smelled the pheromones, and soon stepped outside to where I sat chewing the fat, as it were, with the cook. It turned out that her bike was parked next to my friend’s. I’d seen her there, before, but never with her hair down. The guys who know her say she’s no flashy poser, but gets down the road with the best of them.

a.jpg

When somebody asks me why I ride, my first response is “wind in the face, tits in the back”, but while I like a gal plastered to my back as much as the next guy, there’s something about a motorcycle riding woman that gets my blood up.
But, moving on, I finished my coffee and moved on.

I decided to ease on down the road that circles the bay and take the long way home to the big Bluff. Many local riders consider this this street to be a most therapeutic ride at 3:00 a.m. It ain’t bad on a slow Sunday afternoon, either.

This photo was taken at Oleander Point. I guess I could have walked closer to the water and showed the road curving with the bay, but I thought you’d rather see this cool composition of a Shadow under a mesquite tree.

c.jpg

This is what my town looked like, today,  January 13, 2008.

A good time was had by me.

Written by fiddle mike

January 13, 2008 at 8:00 pm

Posted in motorcycle, photography

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice shot of the skyline…
    good visuals and line up…
    wonderful eye and an excellent outcome,
    thanks,
    Chessie

    Chessie

    January 14, 2008 at 2:35 am


Leave a Reply

