Rides and Tales

Observations From Behind Bars

Rumble on the River.

with one comment


Memorial Day, time for Dan’s third annual “Rumble on the River” Memorial Day party. This year the barbecue vendor was the
United States Military Veterans Motorcycle Club.
We “thanked a vet” by enjoying both their cooking and another day in the promised land.

Photobucket

Dan’s place is on the Nueces River. “Nueces” (locally: noo ACE es) is a Spanish word that means, “nuts”. The plentiful Pecans (our state tree) may have inspired the name but the term has taken on a more personal, and no less accurate, meaning in this neck o’ the woods.

Photobucket

We arrived early in the afternoon, unloaded our instruments and kissed some cheeks and hugged some necks. Some of the more local riders had already arrived and begun to enjoy the day.

Photobucket

USMV MC had the pit fired up preparing for the hungry revelers they’d see a little later.

Photobucket

I took a short meditiation by the river. Then, my coffe cup went dry.
Wow! I never realized what a nice ass I have!

Photobucket

Folks began turning up by bike and car and we hobbed and knobbed with friends, some of whom we hadn’t seen since last year.

Photobucket

90°F? Not a problem for this bunch.

Photobucket

The music began and hasn’t stopped yet, for all I know. I was pleased to see pickers from the upcoming generation performing, as well the gray beards.
There was some rock, rockabilly, bluegrass, and lots of Texas music being played by enthusiastic musicians.

Photobucket

It’s good to be the fiddler. I had my annual picture taken with Steffan. This gal is a for-real singer and a genuine sweet heart. If she ever takes up fiddling I’ll be out of business.

Photobucket

So there you have it. Between great barbecue and cold drinks, boat rides and swimming, fast bikes, pretty women and excellent entertainment, it truely was, another day in paradise. A good time was had by all.

Except this guy.

Photobucket

Written by fiddle mike

May 25, 2008 at 2:40 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Memorial Day Sonnet

    If Liberty means anything to me,
    I will remember what my freedom cost,
    By those who gave their all to keep me free,
    Whose lives were sacrificed, but never lost.
    I will remind myself of what they did,
    And keep them dearly cherished in my heart;
    Their honor never from me shall be hid
    And I will know they always did their part
    To save our nation and its people here,
    To pledge their lives in defense of our ways,
    To show that freedom always outlives fear,
    And sacrifice is hallowed all our days.
    If Liberty means anything to me,
    I will remember those who kept me free.

    © John Stuart 2008
    Pastor at Erin Presbyterian Church,
    Knoxville, Tennessee

    [audio src="http://media.libsyn.com/media/stushie/Memorial_Day.mp3" /]

    stushie

    May 25, 2008 at 5:44 pm


Leave a Reply

