Rides and Tales

Observations From Behind Bars

Luling, TX Ride Report

with one comment

The lunch ride was comprised of folks from surrounding towns who had made contact on the Internet; six bikes and seven people made up our group.
The ride leader set the pace near the posted speed suggestion and we skinned it back for Luling, TX, watermelon capitol and home of great barbecue.

We started and ended under a few clouds but the day averaged about 96°F, perfect for a ride in the country.

The town of Luling and the restaurant where we ate were jammed, and I mean jammed, with people attending the watermelon festival. Seating was at a premium but this sweet thing offered to let me sit with her and her friend. Fine barbecue with two honeys
was tempting, but I already have more women than I deserve so I sent over one of the other men. Spread the wealth, I say.

There were lots of bikes in town, mostly Harleys, but a contingent of urban bikers from Houston rode tricked out sport bikes that drew a lot of attention.

The ride leader and the Corpus bunch decided to return via the San Antonio area. I elected to follow the only woman rider (imagine that) since her route took would take her through a bit of the rolling prairie, with a stop to see her parents, before riding south and homeward.
Her folks were at a family reunion at their church so I went in to say howdy. I met her kin, ate delicious apple pie and talked with Uncle Floyd about the Matchless motorcycle he rode in 1950.I surely enjoyed our stop, and am pleased that such an unlikely side trip was part of my day’s adventure.

As we continued south the day cooled off, slightly, but we still made a couple of stops for water and fuel, giving us a chance to blow a little smoke before parting ways in Beeville.

The sea breeze was blowing directly head-on and the big yella bike wanted to stretch her legs so I twisted the wick, a little, and rolled up to our four-way stop just as the Sexy Granny did. Instead of having to cook, she dined on barbecue imported from Luling while I regaled her with tales of my excursion. She is a very lucky woman.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
Written by fiddle mike

June 29, 2008 at 2:34 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dang, I didnt know you had this blog site that spinned off 360….greeat stories, I enjoyed them all!!!

    Dora

    June 29, 2008 at 7:14 pm


Leave a Reply

