Rides and Tales

Observations From Behind Bars

“You got to go along to get along”

leave a comment »

Banished from yet another website.

This one is a news gathering site for articles of interest to bikers. It’s a good place to keep an eye on what Big Brother is up to with articles gathered from legitimate news sources all over the world. Its not a good place to post honest responses to what I consider posturing.

“Welcome To _____________
(Blah, blah blah…). No Cops Or LEO Supporters Allowed, You Will Be Banned.”

I don’t know which of my comments led to me being banned and, perhaps, branded as a cop or cop supporter. I’m not a cop and I’m not a big-time fan of Big Brother’s enforcers.

(Politically correct disclaimer: “Yeah, I know, not all cops are bad.”)

It may have been my assertion that bikers aren’t killed because their exhausts are too quiet and that all loud pipes do is irritate the citizenry and invite more anti-motorcycle legislation, that one might as well bet one’s ass on a deer whistle or a ride bell.

Then again, it may have been my response to comments about RUBs (Rich Urban Bikers). The bad boys, being way too old “skool” (whatever that is) and ill tempered to tolerate happy people on bikes that haven’t vibrated any parts off, brag how they “flip them off”, when they wave. I allowed as how I am, no kidding, an official “Fingerteer” with official vest pin, no less, awarded for my willingness to flip off snotty riders who refuse to return a wave.

(PC cop-out: “Yeah, I know, etc.” I also know that some associations of riders don’t wave to anyone but their own and no, I don’t flip them off.)

I pointed out that when I’m on the road I return the waves of motorcyclists, truck drivers, tractor drivers, lawn mower drivers and the old folks at the old folks ranch. It’s the neighborly thing to do. Further, I opined, when Big Brother moves to pass another helmet law, or some altered exhaust restriction, these RUBs are likely to make effective allies even if you don’t want your sister to marry one. On the other hand, the “bird” may just move them to apathy.
(This may be the point where I threw in that old 60s cliché, “If you’re not part of the solution, then you’re part of the problem”.)
Of course, it may not have been a comment on a motorcycle related news article that threw me into disrepute, but one about some hood rat who thought he was bullet proof.
Sometimes poor judgment is fatal and sometimes it’s a cop who pushes the button. Self-preservation is a strong instinct and a badge doesn’t automatically put a man in the wrong.

Well, as you might guess, I was surely enjoying the knee-jerk responses of “FTP” (Fuck The Pigs), “FTG” (Fuck The Government) and “FT[fill in the blank]” that were generated by the articles, and maybe I should have just commented, “Yeah, what he said”, but I didn’t go along.

It must be a character defect.

Written by fiddle mike

August 6, 2008 at 4:56 am

Posted in biker, culture, motorcycle, Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

