Rides and Tales

Observations From Behind Bars

Monday with the baby.

with one comment

For the past year, or so, my daughter has been riding this 2007 Yamaha 250 Virago
(now, “V Star”). I’ve been a Honda man for a long time to begin with, and am a proponent of liquid cooled machines, but I got to  admit that the littlest Virago is an impressive small cruiser.


This baby will easily do 70+ mph while  crossing the Oso Bridge against a head wind; she rides and handles well.  Being the classy dame she is, though,  she won’t break wind.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Daughter does a fair bit of commuting here on the windy coast and, besides being tiring, the wind is becoming cold. The windshield she requested arrived well before Christmas but today I had an opportunity to install it.

As you might guess, it ain’t easy to find aftermarket parts for small cruisers.
After determining that daughter needed a 15″ bug catcher, we further determined that there is only one fifteen inch-er that will fit her bike, the
Slipstreamer “Spitfire”.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I’ve owned and installed Slipstreamers in the past so I didn’t balk at the unfamiliar design of the hardware.

There’s not much room for the fudge factor on the curvy Virago handlebars but the Spitfire went on without any more hassle than is inherent with the handle bar-mount design.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


I didn’t get a chance to test ride it, but I followed the instructions provided, assembled in the prescribed order and have no doubt that the unit is sturdy.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Did you know that the word, Virago means, “a woman of strength, or spirit”?

Written by fiddle mike

December 29, 2008 at 10:34 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope your daughter likes and enjoys the windshield.
    There will come a time I guess when I break down and put one on my little Sportster…but not yet. I still like the clean lines she possess…without the “glasses.”

    chessie

    December 30, 2008 at 8:22 am


Leave a Reply

