Rides and Tales

Observations From Behind Bars

Customary First Post (2009)

leave a comment »

Being something of a mental pack rat, I have a motley collection of facts, notions, legends and other party favors and ice breakers, on hand.  While I’d like to be able to document sources for every one of them,  that just ain’t happening. When questioned on an assertion, I’ve been known to respond with, “It’s a fact, look it up”, or,  ” Google it!”.  Just so’s you know, I have not made a New Year’s Resolution to take a more scholarly approach.

Its my understanding (how’s that for a cop-out?) that the Scots had, at least, a charming New Year custom. Charming in both senses of the word.  The first visitor of the new year would not cross a cottage’s threshold empty handed but, rather,  carried a gift of a  piece of coal as a little acceptable folk magic to bless a household with prosperity  (and may be where that Christmas lump of coal idea originated).
I don’t have coal, I don’t want coal.

Down south, folks follow the tradition of eating black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day.  Its a custom born  of adversity.

In 1864 the godless federal troops, under General Sherman, marched across Georgia, destroying and looting everything in their path.  They sacked Atlanta in November and  ended up in Savannah on December 22.  They left the civilians to starve in the snow, leaving nothing behind but black-eyed peas, which was considered animal fodder.

I do have black-eyed peas.  Later, today, I’ll eat them for “luck” as many of us do, but I’ll also eat them in remembrance of the plight of those civilians.  
Perhaps we all should.

As the last few measures of 2008 were played I listened to the wicked law breakers shooting off  contraband fireworks out in the neighborhood and blessed them for spitting in Big Brother’s eye.   “A streak of anarchy is the birthright of every American.”

At midnight I kissed the little woman and copped a feelie for luck before she turned in.  I’ve started this year off right.  Trust me, I know these things, I took a class.

Written by fiddle mike

January 1, 2009 at 2:44 am

Posted in culture, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

