Rides and Tales

Observations From Behind Bars

Musings

with one comment


Sunday, Jill pulled up in the yard with a flat on the rear of her Honda Magna so I jacked the bike up to examine the tire. When we couldn’t find a nail head I misted a little soapy water on the valve stem and, sure enough, there she blew. If you’ve been following our adventures you’ll know that we have had our share of cracked valve stems.

Now, this isn’t really about valve stems, even though the next thing I did was to contact my owners club to ascertain the size of bolt-in valve stem I need (sometimes called, “Yamaha style”).
One of the fellows posted the the link to a specialty shop in New York and I was so hot to get them for our bikes that I ordered four and had my credit card whipped out before I read the bottom line of the order.

Check it out:

Photobucket


Even though the price of a gallon of gasoline, is down to, or below, pre-extortion prices, UPS still wants to charge me over ten US dollars to ship a little over one-half pound of parts from New York to Texas. It ain’t like its going to be the only thing on the plane.
They didn’t even offer a reach-around.

Of course I cancelled the transaction figuring that, if I can find them locally, sales tax and the cost of gas I burn will, surely, amount to less than the price of the item, itself.

That’s assuming I can find a sales clerk in town who knows what a valve stem is.


Written by fiddle mike

January 5, 2009 at 12:19 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mike, I thought when I saw the charges, that for sure the company was over charging you. So I went to https://wwwapps.ups.com/ctc/request and looked it up for myself. They were UNDERCHARGING you…well at least from the zip that I gave them…Criminy Mike, that’s outrageous to be sure! The post office wouldn’t charge but about half that amount. Savages…and I know for a fact that Fed Ex is less expensive as well. Why would these business’s continue to use the Brown….when there are better choices?

    chesshirecat

    January 5, 2009 at 4:51 pm


Leave a Reply

