Rides and Tales

Observations From Behind Bars

Gear

with one comment

Labor Day has passed and it’s time for the luckiest woman in Flour Bluff and I to get our knees all breezy.
While  getting my accoutrement (French for “my shit”) together I realized my goggles were no longer hermetically sealing my eyes.
Someone in my family tree, probably some redskin, stuck me with a nose that most sunglasses won’t mount on, not so’s they keep the wind from blowing into my eyes, at least, not even behind a bug catcher,   so a serviceable pair of goggles is  important.  They become less than serviceable when the foam that is supposed to seal against wind degrades.
Now, I have a pair of Bobster goggles I like, they’re not too expensive and have them snazzy interchangeable lenses you hear so much about. They also had the foam crumbling.  Not wanting to scrap them, I decided to weather strip them.  The strip didn’t adhere well so I laid down a layer of an excellent adhesive, 3M Plastic Emblem and Trim Adhesive. Adhesive for trim… who’d a-thunk it?

Bench testing and a short field test has left me optimistic that they will serve.  Further field testing begins just as soon as I can get my saddle bag packed.

Naturally, my gloves were pretty much shot, too.  I like full-fingered gloves since near (no finger)-gloves tend to attract hard bugs and small rocks.  Riding in South Texas can get pretty warm so I like sport biker gloves for comfort.  The pair that finally wore out are Icon “Tarmac”.  I like the Tarmac but since losing my connection who gave me a nice discount, I like the “Twenty-niners” better.  They cost $29 even at the dealer. That particular dealer didn’t have black in my size so, not wanting to waste a trip into town, I got these zooty red mits.

The saleswoman was a sweetheart, but not so sweet  that she’d sell me one red glove and one green (for port and starboard) so, when you see me, you may not be able to tell whether I’m coming or going.  I know sometimes I can’t.

Written by fiddle mike

September 17, 2010 at 3:06 am

Posted in motorcycle

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re right! DUH! I have thrown away goggles cuz of foam de-generation…my ass is thoroughly kicked now…bruised and sore… what a cool concept!

    chesshirecat

    September 17, 2010 at 9:09 am


Leave a Reply

